Cumberland County Schools' High School Athletic Web Site

2014 Fayetteville Observer
All Cape Fear Region Boys' Soccer Team

Coach of the Year
Damon Herbert (Jack Britt)

Player of the Year
Tyler Nelson (Gray's Creek)
Gray's Creek's Tyler Nelson; Jack Britt's Damon Herbert claim top Observer soccer honors (Fayetteville Observer - 12/15/14)


William Schaefer
School: Fayetteville Academy
Position: Defender
Class: Senior
Scored 12 goals while anchoring the back line for the Eagles. North Carolina Independent Schools Athletic Association 2-A All-State and North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association All-Region selection.

Trenton Spigener
School: Jack Britt
Position: Keeper
Class: Senior
17 goals allowed and 12 shutouts in 23 matches.

Gerardo Peraza
School: Pinecrest
Position: Forward
Class: Senior
The Southeastern 4-A Player of the Year had 31 goals and 24 assists. Was also a NCSCA All-State honoree.

Miguel Bello
School: Lumberton
Position: Midfield/Forward
Class: Junior
An NCSCA All-Region and All-State selection, Bello has 18 goals and 13 assists for the Pirates.

Matthew Massengill
School: East Bladen
Position: Keeper
Class: Senior
1.3 goals against average, 101 saves, stopped four out of five penalty kicks, 4.6 saves per game, 8 shutouts, 3 assists and 3 goals.

Kyle Kaiser
School: Gray’s Creek
Position: Forward
Class: Senior
Had 31 goals and three assists for the Bears en route to All-Cape Fear Valley 3-A honors.

Jair Sanchez
School: Hobbton
Position: Midfield
Class: Freshman
Scored 31 goals and added five assists for the Wildcats.

Sullivan Reece
School: Southern Lee
Position: Defender
Class: Senior
Named Cape Fear Valley 3-A Defensive Player of the Year and served as a captain for the Cavaliers.

Ricardo Aguilar
School: Southern Lee
Position: Forward
Class: Junior
All-Cape Fear Valley selection scored 29 goals and added 12 assists for the Cavaliers.

Griffin Scully
School: Grace Christian
Position: Defender
Class: Senior
Accomplishments: NCISAA 2-A All-State selection and a captain for the Crusaders.

Fernando Lopez
School: North Moore
Position: Midfield
Class: Senior
Player of the Year in the Yadkin Valley 1-A had 20 assists and eight goals. Also a NCSCA All-Region and All-State selection.

Conor Morris
School: Jack Britt
Position: Midfield
Class: Senior
Accomplishments: Mid-South 4-A Player of the Year had 19 goals and 13 assists for the Buccaneers.

Bruno Lazaro
School: Fayetteville Academy
Position: Forward/Midfield
Class: Junior
Had 29 goals and 10 assists en route to winning Cape Fear Independent Conference Player of the Year, NCISAA 2-A All-State and NCSCA Region Player of the Year, All-Region and All-State honors.

Andrew Hassenfelt
School: Pinecrest
Position: Defender
Class: Junior
Led the Patriots back line while adding two assists in attack. Also a NCSCA All-Region selection.


Pate Holland, Junior, Lakewood
Caleb Edkins, Junior, South View

Dakota Salazar, Senior, Hobbton
Tyler Simpson, Senior, Seventy-First
Matt Delaney, Sophomore, South View
Raul Rubio, Senior, Hobbton

Anthony Wren, Junior, South View
Steven Sawicki, Senior, Gray’s Creek
Kyle Hebl, Junior, Jack Britt
Ivan Mireles, Junior, Lee County

Justin Bellamy, Junior, Fayetteville Academy
Payton Jackson, Junior, Lee County
Iban Catalan, Junior, North Moore
Jose Leonidez, Senior, Grace Christian

Brett Burns, Senior, Terry Sanford
Joao Cruz, Senior, Fayetteville Academy
Francis Flores, Sophomore, Lakewood
Zeph Gaines, Senior, Overhills
Parker Gallagher, Senior, Cape Fear
Andrew Gonchorov, Junior, Cape Fear
Nate Holt, Junior, Grace Christian
Ryan Knowles, Senior, Cape Fear
Micheal Melvin, Junior, Freedom Christian
Victor Mondragon, Senior, Grace Christian
Chance Noonan, Senior, Jack Britt
Nick Rios, Senior, Jack Britt
Pedro Ugarte, Senior, North Moore
Christian Vega, Sophomore, Hobbton
Raynor Weaver, Senior, Triton


Click here to return to the Home Page